Awards and Professorships

Please see below for information on awards and professorships the Provost administers.

Duke University’s Thomas Langford Lectureship Award

This program was established by the Office of the Provost in 2000 as a tribute to the memory of Thomas Langford, former Divinity School faculty member, Dean, and Provost.  Tommy Langford embodied the highest university values of scholarship, teaching, collegiality, and the promotion of faculty excellence and community.  This annual lecture/luncheon series is designed to provide Duke’s faculty with an opportunity to hear about the ongoing scholarly activities of their recently promoted or hired colleagues.  The Committee on Appointments, Promotion and Tenure, in consultation with the Provost, choose four to five recipients of this award each year.  The awardees are selected based on the appeal of their research to an interdisciplinary faculty audience.  Each also embodies Tommy Langford’s dedication to teaching, research, and service.

For more information, see this article, and the list of award recipients since 2006-2007.

Nannerl Keohane Distinguished Visiting Professorship

The Keohane Professorship recognizes the remarkable contributions of Dr. Nannerl Keohane during her term as President of Duke University, and the unprecedented level of collaboration she and UNC Chancellor James Moeser created between these two great institutions.  The award was created in 2004 by Chancellor Moeser and is funded by Carolina graduate Julian Robertson and his wife, Josie, of New York (parents of Spencer Robertson ’98) and the William R. Kenan, Jr. Charitable Trust.  The Professorship brings outstanding scholars, artists, or practitioners to the UNC and Duke campuses who will promote existing and encourage new collaborations between the two schools.  The Professorship is administered by UNC and is overseen by Ronald Strauss, Executive Vice Provost at UNC and Noah Pickus, Associate Provost and Senior Advisor at Duke University.

Learn more »

Duke University Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

In 2003, Duke University re-joined approximately 50 other Southern universities in presenting the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award. This award program, sponsored by the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation, recognizes each spring one graduating senior and one member of the faculty, staff, or graduate student body of Duke University or Health System for their outstanding commitment to service.

Learn more »