Duke University Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award

Nominations are not currently being accepted. Please see below for more information about the award and current and past recipients.

Description of the Sullivan Award

In 2003, Duke University re-joined approximately 50 other Southern universities in presenting the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award. This award program, sponsored by the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation, recognizes one graduating senior and one member of the faculty, staff (House Staff included), or graduate student body of Duke University or Duke Health for their outstanding commitment to service.

The New York Southern Society established the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards in 1925 in memory of Mr. Sullivan, a southerner who became a prominent lawyer, businessman and philanthropist in New York in the late nineteenth century. The award seeks to perpetuate the excellence of character and humanitarian service of Algernon Sydney Sullivan by recognizing and honoring such qualities in others.

Duke University gives this award annually to a graduating senior and a member of the faculty, staff (House Staff included), or graduate student body to recognize members of the Duke community who have demonstrated noble character and acted as humble servants, placing service to others before self-interest.

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award committee desires that this prestigious opportunity for recognition be available to students and employees alike regardless of their role at the University. This ensures that all who make significant contributions to the campus community and the community at large will be considered as candidates for this unique award.


Amanda Joos with Provost Sally Kornbluth
Amanda Joos with Provost Sally Kornbluth
Sam Miglarese with Provost Sally Kornbluth
Sam Miglarese with Provost Sally Kornbluth
Liyu Woldemichael with Provost Sally Kornbluth
Liyu Woldemichael with Provost Sally Kornbluth

Winners of the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award at Duke University


Faculty/graduate student/staff winners
Amanda Joos – citation
Sam Miglarese – citation

Student Winner
Liyu Woldemichael – citation


Faculty/graduate student/staff winners
John Amodeo — citation
Anika Lucas — citation

Student winner — Tatayana Richardson — citation


Faculty winner — Christopher Kelsey — citation
Student winner — Grace Smith — citation


Staff winner — Niasha Fray — citation

Student winners
Idalis French - citation
Moreen Njoroge - citation


Staff winner — Robert Byrd — citation
Student winner — Isaiah Carter — citation


Faculty winner — Rick Hoyle — citation
Student winner —  Lauren Harper  — citation


Faculty winner — Sherryl Broverman — citation
Student winner — Quinn Holmquist — citation


Staff winner — Brad Fulton — citation
Student winner — Rasheed Alhadi — citation


Staff winner — Robert Newlin — citation
Student winner — Hannah Ward — citation


Staff winner — Geoffrey Mock — citation
Student winner — Kathleen Perry — citation


Staff winner — Barbara Dotson — citation
Student winner — Harrison Hines — citation


Staff winners
Barbara Lau — citation
Sarah Woodard — citation

Student winner — Alice Mao — citation


Staff winner – Jim Wilkerson — citation
Student winner – Jesse Huddleston


Staff winner – Annapurna Deo — citation
Student winner – Greg Akinbiyi


Staff winner – Jude C. Jonassaint — citation
Student winner – Claire Lauterbach


Staff winners 
Claude Stubblefield — citation
David Edwards — citation

Student winners 
Ben Abram
Trisha Bailey


Staff winner – Zachary McNish — citation
Student winner – William Hwang


Staff winner – Joseph B. Jackson — citation
Student winner – Mary Ellison Baars


Staff winner – The Reverend Elizabeth Wade Grant — citation

Student winners 
Victoria Elizabeth Hogan
Sourav Sengupta


Staff winner – Jennifer Garst, M.D. — citation
Student winner – Elizabeth Ann Brantley