Provost Direct Reports

Provost Direct Reports

The following vice provosts, deans, units and committees report to the Provost.


College of Arts and Sciences Valerie Ashby, Dean
Divinity School Elaine Heath, Dean
Fuqua School of Business William Boulding, Dean
Graduate School Paula D. McClain, Dean
School of Law David F. Levi, Dean
Nicholas School of the Environment Jeffrey Vincent, Interim Dean
Edmund T. Pratt School of Engineering Ravi Bellamkonda, Dean
Sanford School of Public Policy Kelly Brownell, Dean
Deans of the Schools of Medicine and Nursing report to the Chancellor for Health Affairs

Vice Provosts

Academic Affairs Jennifer Francis, Vice Provost
Arts Scott Lindroth, Vice Provost
Faculty Advancement Abbas Benmamoun, Vice Provost
Finance and Administration James S. Roberts, Executive Vice Provost
Global Affairs Michael Merson, Vice President and Vice Provost
Interdisciplinary Studies Edward Balleisen, Vice Provost
Library Affairs Deborah Jakubs, University Librarian and Vice Provost
Research Lawrence Carin, Vice Provost
Undergraduate Education Stephen Nowicki, Dean and Vice Provost

Other Direct Reports and Academic and Administrative Units

Associate Provost and Senior Advisor Noah Pickus
Digital Education and Innovation Matthew Rascoff, Associate Vice Provost
Duke Kunshan University Program Office James Dobbins, Associate Vice Provost and Director
Duke University Press Stephen A. Cohn, Director
Financial Aid Alison Rabil, Assistant Vice President and Director
Nasher Museum of Art Sarah Schroth, Director
Student Affairs Larry Moneta, Vice President
Talent Identification Program Shawna Young, Director
Undergraduate Admissions Christoph Guttentag, Dean

Committees (with current Chair)

Academic Programs Committee Steffen Bass, Physics
Advisory Committee on Appointments, Promotion, and Tenure Joseph Izatt, Pratt School of Engineering
Assessment of Educational and Administrative Support Frank Blalark, University Registrar
Authorship Dispute Board Michael Fitzgerald, Chemistry
Bass Connections Faculty Advisory Council Leigh Ann Simmons, School of Nursing
Bass Professorships Committee Lisa Keister, Sociology
Campus Conflict of Interest Committee Lawrence Carin, Vice Provost for Research
China Faculty Council Jim Zhang, Nicholas School of the Environment/Global Health Institute
Council for the Arts Thomas Rankin, Master of Fine Arts in Experimental & Documentary Arts
Advisory Committee on Distinguished Professorships
Duke University Press Editorial Advisory Board Priscilla Wald, English and Women’s Studies
Global Priorities Committee Erika Weinthal, Nicholas School of the Environment
Intellectual Property Board F. Hadley Cocks, Pratt School of Engineering
Library Council James Roberts, Economics
Masters Advisory Council Brad Fox, Pratt School  of Engineering
Paula McClain, Dean of the Graduate School and Vice Provost for Graduate Education
Misconduct in Research David Beratan, Chemistry
Office of Licensing and Ventures Board Larry Carin, Vice Provost for Research
Scott Gibson, Executive Vice Dean for Administration
Advisory Committee on Online Education Bruce Jentleson, Sanford School of Public Policy and Sally Kornbluth, Provost
Research Policy Committee Lawrence Carin, Vice Provost for Research
TUNL (Triangle Universities Nuclear Laboratory) Calvin Howell, Physics
University Committee on Radiological Safety Ross Widenhoefer, Chemistry
University Institutional Review Board for the Protection of Human Subjects in Non-Medical Research Julie Britton, Fuqua School of Business
University Schedule Committee Frank Blalark, Registrar