Rubenstein Fellows Logo

The Rubenstein Fellows Academy was a university-wide initiative to bring top thought leaders to Duke between 2014 and 2021 to share insight and spark discussion around global challenges.

Over eight years, the program brought a rich mix of talent to Duke to enhance the intellectual life of students and faculty. Collectively, the nine Rubenstein Fellows engaged deeply in the life of the university including teaching undergraduate and professional student classes, engaging with alumni and student-athletes, cultivating new archives at the Duke Libraries, leading Bass Connections and DukeEngage projects, mentoring and advising students, making career connections, shaping faculty research agendas, and writing new books.

The Rubenstein Fellows Academy was supported by a generous gift from David M. Rubenstein T’70. The program came to a close in 2021 but the impact of the Fellows at Duke, in the world, and on our alumni will surely continue. The final report documents the Rubenstein Fellows and their impact. For questions about the Rubenstein Fellows Academy, contact Laura Howes, director of the program from 2014-2021.

Read the Final Report 

General Martin Dempsey and Prof Peter Feaver seated, with students behind on stairwell

General Martin Dempsey (seated second from left), Rubenstein Fellow from 2016-2021, with Professor Peter Feaver and students following a class dinner


Rubenstein Fellows:

Alex Dehgan (2014-2015)

Former Chief Scientist at the U.S. Agency for International Development

James (Jim) E. Rogers (2014-2016)

Former Chairman and CEO of Duke Energy

Ambassador Jack Matlock (2015-2018)

Former Ambassador to the Soviet Union (1987-1991) and Czechoslovakia (1981-1983) and Member of the National Security Council (1983-1986)

General Martin E. Dempsey (2016-2021)

Retired Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff

Robert Bonnie (2017-2019)

Former Under Secretary for Natural Resources and Environment at the U.S. Department of Agriculture

Sarah Bloom Raskin (2017-2020)

Former Deputy Secretary at the U.S. Department of the Treasury (2014-2017) and Governor of the Federal Reserve Board (2010-2014)

Eric Perakslis (2019-2021)

Former Chief Information Officer and Chief Scientist, U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Dikgang Moseneke (2020)

Former Deputy Chief Justice of the Republic of South Africa

Susan (Sue) M. Gordon (2020-2021)

Former U.S. Principal Deputy Director of National Intelligence