Steering Committee

Steering Committee

Charge to the Strategic Planning Steering Committee

The Strategic Planning Steering Committee is an ad hoc advisory body to the Provost with the primary responsibility of engaging the Duke community in a discussion and formulation of the major themes that will shape the University’s next academic strategic plan. Specifically, this committee, working in conjunction with the Provost’s office, has four main tasks: 1) Encourage, facilitate and gather broad community input on the direction of Duke’s academic mission in the coming decade; 2) Coalesce that  input into major themes that will drive Duke’s academic strategic plan; 3) Formulate a planning process that takes full advantage of the intellectual and creative capital of the Duke community and allows for meaningful engagement of all parties interested in and impacted by Duke’s academic mission; and 4) Submit a white paper to the Provost in the summer of 2015 that details the proposed themes and planning process.

Strategic Planning Steering Committee Membership

Susan Lozier, Chair
Ronie-Richelle Garcia-Johnson Professor of Ocean Sciences
Nicholas School of the Environment
Email: susan.lozier@duke.edu

Noah Pickus, Vice Chair
Nannerl O. Keohane Director of the Kenan Institute for Ethics
Associate Research Professor of Public Policy
Email:

Gary Bennett*
Professor of Psychology & Neuroscience, Global Health & Medicine
Email: gary.bennett@duke.edu

Charles Campbell
Professor of Homiletics, Divinity School
Email: ccampbell@div.duke.edu

Charles Clotfelter*
Z. Smith Reynolds Professor of Public Policy Studies
Professor of Economics and Law
Associate Dean for Academic Programs, Sanford School of Public Policy
Email: 

Laurent Dubois
Marcello Lotti Professor of Romance Studies and History
Email: laurent.dubois@duke.edu

Alexander Hartemink*
Professor of Computer Science, Statistical Science, and Biology
Email:

Adriane Lentz-Smith
Associate Professor, Department of History
Email: adl16@duke.edu

Marilyn Oermann
Thelma M. Ingles Professor of Nursing
Director of Evaluation and Educational Research
Duke University School of Nursing
Email: marilyn.oermann@duke.edu

Svati Shah
Associate Professor of Medicine and Vice-Chief, Translational Research
Division of Cardiology, Duke University School of Medicine
Email: svati.shah@duke.edu

Kristine Stiles
France Family Professor of Art, Art History & Visual Studies
Email: awe@duke.edu

Peter Ubel
Madge and Dennis T. McLawhorn University Professor
Fuqua School of Business
Email: peter.ubel@duke.edu

Jeffrey Vincent*
Clarence F. Korstian Professor of Forest Economics and Management
Nicholas School of the Environment
Email:  

Jennifer West
Fitzpatrick Family University Professor of Engineering
Pratt School of Engineering
Email: jennifer.l.west@duke.edu

Jonathan Wiener
William R. & Thomas L. Perkins Professor of Law
Professor of Environmental Policy and Professor of Public Policy
Email  wiener@law.duke.edu

Ex officio

Sally Kornbluth
Provost
Jo Rae Wright University Professor
Email: sally.kornbluth@duke.edu

Keith Whitfield
Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
Professor of Psychology & Neuroscience
Email:

*Served through May, 2015