​​In 2003, Duke University re-joined approximately 68 other Southern universities in presenting the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award. This award program, sponsored by the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation, recognizes one graduating senior, one graduate/professional student (House Staff included), and one member of the faculty and staff of Duke University for their outstanding commitment to service.

The New York Southern Society established the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards in 1925 in memory of Mr. Sullivan, a southerner who became a prominent lawyer, businessman and philanthropist in New York in the late nineteenth century. The award seeks to perpetuate the excellence of character and humanitarian service of Algernon Sydney Sullivan by recognizing and honoring such qualities in others.

Duke University gives this award annually to recognize members of the Duke community who have demonstrated generosity of character and acted as humble community members, placing service to others before self-interest.  Qualities and contribution to others should be practically applied to daily living, distinct from academic and professional achievements. Strong nominations have multiple letters of support and can be submitted either as one nomination or multiple nominations. We particularly welcome nominations of individuals who have not been previously recognized for their contributions to the community.

The Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award committee desires that this prestigious opportunity for recognition be available to students and employees alike regardless of their role at the University. This ensures that all who make significant contributions to the campus community and the community at large will be considered as candidates for this unique award.


Yuxuan "Adela" Guo with Interim Provost Jennifer Francis

2023 Undergraduate Student Award Recipient

Learn More

Rabbi Elana Friedman with Interim Provost Jennifer Francis

2023 Staff Award Recipient

Learn More

Travis Lau with Interim Provost Jennifer Francis

Travis Lau Accepts on Behalf of 2023 Graduate Student Award Recipient Bijan Abar

Learn More

2003 - 2022 Award Recipients


Professional Student: Amanda Joos
Faculty/Staff: Sam Miglarese
Student: Liyu Woldemichael 


Graduate Student: John Amodeo
Faculty/Staff: Anika Lucas
Student: Tatayana Richardson


Faculty: Christopher Kelsey
Student: Grace Smith


Staff: Niasha Fray 
Student: Idalis French
Student: Moreen Njoroge 


Staff: Robert Byrd 
Student: Isaiah Carter


Faculty: Rick Hoyle
Student: Lauren Harper


Faculty: Sherryl Broverman
Student: Quinn Holmquist


Staff: Brad Fulton
Student: Rasheed Alhadi


Staff: Robert Newlin
Student: Hannah Ward


Staff: Geoffrey Mock
Student: Kathleen Perry


Staff: Barbara Dotson
Student: Harrison Hines


Staff: Barbara Lau
Staff: Sarah Woodard
Student: Alice Mao


Staff: Jim Wilkerson
Student: Jesse Huddleston


Staff: Annapurna Deo
Student: Greg Akinbiyi


Staff: Jude C. Jonassaint
Student: Claire Lauterbach


Staff: Claude Stubblefield
Staff: David Edwards
Student: Ben Abram
Student: Trisha Bailey


Staff: Zachary McNish
Student: William Hwang


Staff: Joseph B. Jackson
Student: Mary Ellison Baars


Staff: The Reverend Elizabeth Wade Grant
Student: Victoria Elizabeth Hogan
Student: Sourav Sengupta


Staff: Jennifer Garst, M.D. 
Student: Elizabeth Ann Brantley